The Eckert-Mauchly Award recognizes outstanding contributions to computer and digital systems architecture.  It comes with a certificate and a $5,000 honorarium.

ACM and the IEEE Computer Society co-sponsor the Eckert-Mauchly Award, which was initiated in 1979.  The award is known as the computer architecture community’s most prestigious award.

The award was named for John Presper Eckert and John William Mauchly, who collaborated on the design and construction of the Electronic Numerical Integrator and Computer (ENIAC), the first large-scale electronic computing machine, which was completed in 1947.

Presentation venue and dates:  The 45th International Symposium on Computer Architecture (ISCA).  ISCA will be held in Los Angeles, CA – June 2-6, 2018.

Committee Selection Chair:  Kunle Olukotun, Stanford University 

Nomination Guidelines

  • This award requires 3 endorsements.
  • Self-nominations are not accepted
  • Do not required membership to nominate.

Main nomination Site:

Access the Online Eckert-Mauchly Nomination Form or view the Nomination Questions in pdf.

IEEE-CS Awards homepage:

ACM Awards homepage:

2018 ACM/IEEE-CS Eckert-Mauchly Award – CALL FOR NOMINATIONS