The IEEE Computer Society recognizes outstanding work by its members who enhance the field through technical achievement and service to the computer profession, industry and society.

Nominations site:

Deadline: 1 October 2018

Featuring Two Education Awards:

Nominations for the Computer Entrepreneur Award and Computer Pioneer Award:

  • The Computer Entrepreneur Award honors the technical and entrepreneurial leaders who are responsible for the growth of the computer industry.
  • The Computer Pioneer Award honors individuals whose contributions to the development of the computer field occur at least 15 years earlier.

The Society is also seeking nominations for its achievement awards in Standards, Service, Computer Science & Engineering:

  • The Harry H. Goode Memorial Award recognizes achievements in the information processing field, either a single contribution of theory, design or technique, or the accumulation of important contributions.
  • The W. Wallace McDowell Award honors outstanding recent theoretical, design, educational, practical, innovative contributions within the computing field.
  • The Technical Achievement Award is presented for outstanding and innovative contributions to computer and information science and engineering or computer technology, usually within the past 10, and not more than 15 years.
  • The Hans Karlsson Standards Award is presented in recognition of outstanding skills and dedication to diplomacy, team facilitation and joint achievement, in the development or promotion of standards in the computer industry where individual aspirations, corporate competition, and organizational rivalry could otherwise be counter to the benefit of society.
  • The Richard E. Merwin Award for Distinguished Service is presented for outstanding service to the profession at large, including significant service to the IEEE Computer Society or its predecessor organizations.
  • The Harlan D. Mills Award recognizes researchers and practitioners who have demonstrated long-standing, sustained, and impactful contributions to software engineering practice and research through the application of sound theory.
  • The Charles Babbage Award recognizes significant contributions in the field of parallel computation. The candidate would have made an outstanding, innovative contribution or contributions to parallel computation.


Call for Computer Society Major Award Nominations