ACM/IEEE-CS Eckert-Mauchly Award – Call for Award Nominations

ACM and the IEEE Computer Society co-sponsor the
Eckert-Mauchly Award, known as the computer
architecture community’s most prestigious award.

Initiated in 1979, the award recognizes outstanding
contributions to computer and digital systems architecture.
It comes with a certifi cate and a $5,000 prize.

The award was named for John Presper Eckert and John
William Mauchly, who collaborated on the design and
construction of the Electronic Numerical Integrator and
Computer (ENIAC), the first large-scale electronic computing
machine, which was completed in 1947.

Nomination Guidelines

■ Open to all. Anyone may nominate.

■ Self-nominations are not accepted.

■ This award requires 3 endorsements.

■ Submit your nomination by 30 March 2019 to

Award Presentation

■ ISCA 2019 (ACM/IEEE International Symposium
on Computer Architecture) 

■ Phoenix, Arizona, USA 

■ June 22–26, 2019

How to Nominate?

Nomination site: you must login:

Access the Eckert-Mauchly nomination form 


Write to IEEE Computer Society Awards
Administrator at


Eckert-Mauchly Award