



IEEE TCCA Business Meeting HPCA-19 Shenzhen, China

Meeting Agenda

- HPCA-19 (2013)
 - Lixing Xhang General Chair
 - Dean Tullsen PC Chair
- HPCA-20 (2014)
 - Tao Li General Chair
 - Natalie Enright PC Chair
- HPCA-21 (2015) bids ???
- IEEE TCCA budget/entitlement for 2013
- IEEE TCCA Young Investigator Award updates
- Federal agency support for Computer Architecture research
 - NSF XPS program
- ISCA Best Practices Josep Torrellas (chair), Antonio Gonzalez, Luiz Barroso
- Other topics for discussion



IEEE TCCA Leadership

- TCCA Org:
 - Chair David Kaeli
 - Vice-chair Antonio Gonzalez, Intel BRC/UPC
 - Executive Committee
 - David Christie, AMD
 - Marcelo Cintra, U. Edinburgh
 - Chita Das, Penn State
 - Michel Dubois, USC
 - Lieven Eeckhout, U. Ghent
 - Steve Keckler, UT/ NVIDIA
 - David Lilja, Univ. Minnesota

- Yale Patt, UT
- Timothy Pinkston, USC
- Ronny Ronen, Intel Israel
- Per Stenstrom, Chalmers U.
- Josep Torrellas, UIUC
- Dean Tullsen, UCSD
- Qing Yang, Univ. of RI
- TCCA Communications Chair
 - Engin Ipek, U. Rochester



HPCA-19 2013

Lixing Zhang – General Chair Dean Tullsen – Program Chair



HPCA-20 2014



- Orlando, Florida
- General Chair: Tao Li
- Program Chair: Natalie Enright







HPCA-21 2015

• Bids??

ICT/Chinese Academy of Sciences

2013 TCCA Entitlement/Budget



Conference	Year	Sponsorship	Attendance	TC Surplus
ANCS	2011	33%	63	\$1,289
Cool Chips	2011	50%	133	\$155
DS-RT	2011	30%	21	\$1,836
ES-WEEK	2011	5%	321	(\$131)
FCCM	2011	100%	95	\$13,136
HPCA	2012	100%	183	\$15,083
ICCD	2011	50%	101	\$(349)
IISWC	2011	100%	49	\$1,242
ISCA	2011	50%	651	\$1,262
ISPASS	2011	34%	67	\$3,052
NANOARCH	2011	50%	57	2,628
PACT	2011	24%	140	\$2,731
SBAC-PAD	2011	13%	120	\$(6)



Approved 2013 TCCA Budget

Purpose	Amount
Conference Sponsorship*	\$27,500
Best of CAL	\$500
TCCA Young Investigator Award	\$2500
Total	\$30,500

* ISCA, HPCA and other TCCA sponsored conferences

TCCA Young Investigator Award 💮

- "This annual award recognizes outstanding contributions in the field of computer architecture by an individual who has made contributions in Computer Architecture research and received his/her PhD degree within 6 years from the date of the nomination. The award will be presented at the International Symposium on Computer Architecture (ISCA) Awards Banquet."
- Selected by the IEEE TCCA Executive Committee
 - An awards Subcommittee solicits nominations identifies up to three potential recipients
 - 2013 Subcommittee: Ruby Lee (chair), Steve Keckler, Tim Pinkston
 - TCCA EC votes to select the awardee nominee
 - IEEE CS Awards Committee provides oversight
 - 2013 Awardee: Karu Sankaralingam

Exploiting Parallelism and Scalability (XPS)

CCC Advancing Computer Architecture Research (ACAR1 and ACAR2)

21st Century Computer Architecture Whitepaper



ISCA Best Practices

Josep Torrellas (chair), Antonio Gonzalez, Luiz Barroso

In collaboration with SIGARCH, develop a guide to help Program Chairs follow some best practices.

Status: Under review



Other topics