2018 ACM/IEEE-CS Eckert-Mauchly Award 




Main nomination Site: http://awards.computer.org/   

Access the Online Eckert Mauchly Nomination Form

View Nomination Questions in PDF


Deadline is 30 March 2018


ACM and the IEEE Computer Society co-sponsor the Eckert-Mauchly Award, which was initiated in 1979.  The award is known as the computer architecture community’s most prestigious award. 


The award recognizes outstanding contributions to computer and digital systems architecture.  It comes with a certificate and a $5,000 honorarium. 


The award was named for John Presper Eckert and John William Mauchly, who collaborated on the design and construction of the Electronic Numerical Integrator and Computer (ENIAC), the first large-scale electronic computing machine, which was completed in 1947. 


Past recipient: 


2016 Recipient:  Uri Weiser, Technion IIT

“For leadership and pioneering industry and academic work in high performance processors and multimedia architectures.”


Important Dates: Submission deadline 30 March 2018


Presentation Dates:  The 45th International Symposium on Computer Architecture (ISCA).  ISCA will be held in Los Angeles, CA – June 2-6, 2018.


Committee Selection Chair:  Kunle Olukotun, Stanford University


Nomination Guidelines: 

> Open to all.  Do not need IEEE Membership to nominate.

> This award requires 3 endorsements. 

> Self-nominations are not accepted.

> contact us at awards@computer.org for any questions.


About Eckert-Mauchly Award:    http://computer.org/web/awards/eckert-mauchly

IEEE-CS Awards homepage:  http://computer.org/web/awards   

ACM Awards homepage:  http://awards.acm.org/

Call for Nominations: ACM/IEEE-CS Eckert-Mauchly Award